I recently installed the open source Darwin Streaming Server (DSS) onto my eMac. I wanted to re-install DSS. To do that I needed to un-install DSS before I could re-install it. So I thought to un-install DSS it was as simple as dragging the QuickTimeStreamingServer folder (that was in the Library) into the Trash. Boy was I wrong, really wrong. If you try to re-install DSS and not all the files from the previous (same version) installation are not removed, you will receive an error stating you have a newer version of DSS on your computer and you can’t go any further in the installation (you will see a red stop sign with a !) After reading over a hundred posts about this topic on the Mac Mailing Lists, I pieced together a few posts that helped me delete DSS totally from my computer, and I was able to reinstall it onto my computer.

First, I dragged the QuickTimeStreaming folder located in the Library into the Trash (/Library/QuickTimeStreaming). I then followed the advice of one post on the Mac Mailing list to delete these files (using Terminal of course):

/usr/sbin/QuickTimeStreamingServer – Streaming Server app
/usr/sbin/streamingadminserver.pl – QTSS Web Admin server
/Library/QuickTimeStreaming/Modules/ – QTSS plug-ins
/usr/bin/PlaylistBroadcaster – The PlaylistBroadcaster
/usr//bin/MP3Broadcaster – The MP3Broadcaster
/usr/bin/qtpasswd – Generates password files for access control
/usr//bin/StreamingLoadTool – RTSP simulated client stress tool
/Library/QuickTimeStreaming/Config/ – QTSS config files
/Library/QuickTimeStreaming/Movies/ – Media files
/Library/QuickTimeStreaming/Docs/ – readme.html & user manual.pdf files
/Library/QuickTimeStreaming/logs/ – Logs
/Library/QuickTimeStreaming/playlists – Web Admin Playlist files

 

After that, I still couldn’t re-install DSS. I then used this forums advice:

Most of DSS is installed in /Library/QuickTimeStreaming on Mac OS X. Delete that directory and it is pretty much uninstalled. Some other things that you can do include deleting the startup item for the streaming server and editing /etc/hostconfig. It’s easiest to do these from the command-line (using the Terminal application) as you need to be the super-user to do these things.

To get rid of the streaming server startup items:
sudo rm -r /System/Library/StartupItems/QuickTimeStreamingServer

To edit /etc/hostconfig with the “pico” editor, first make a backup copy just in case:
cp /etc/hostconfig ~/Desktop
(this will copy the file to your desktop)
The edit the file with pico as the super-user:
sudo pico /etc/hostconfig

Use the cursor keys to go to the lines that begin with QTSSWEBADMIN and QTSSRUNSERVER. When your cursor is on the line press Ctrl+K to delete the line. Don’t change anything else. When you are finished editing press Ctrl+X to exit. A prompt will appear on the bottom of the screen “Save modified buffer (ANSWERING “No” WILL DESTROY CHANGES) ?” Type “Y” for yes. A prompt will appear with the file name. Press Return to overwrite the file and exit the pico editor.

As an alternative, you can also turn off the streaming server so it won’t startup when you reboot your Powerbook by editing /etc/hostconfig. Follow the editing procedure above and change the -YES- to -NO- for QTSSWEBADMIN and QTSSRUNSERVER. This leave the streaming server installed, but disables it.

 

After that I still couldn’t re-install DSS. I then followed this post:

 

rm -Rf /Library/QuickTimeStreaming
rm -f /usr/sbin/streamingadminserver.pl
rm -f /usr/sbin/QuickTimeStreamingServer
rm -f /usr/bin/PlaylistBroadcaster
rm -f /usr/bin/MP3Broadcaster
rm -f /usr/bin/qtpasswd
rm -f /usr/bin/StreamingLoadTool
rm -f /usr/bin/broadcasterctl
rm -Rf /Library/Receipts/QuickTimeStreamingServer (might be different, I
don’t know if you are using QTSS or DSS.)

Remove any QTSS-related lines from /etc/hostconfig (QTSSSERVER)

Then kill the running programs (QuickTimeStreamingServer,
streamingadminserver.pl, and any broadcasters) or just reboot. I think
that’s it but I could have missed something.

-Joel Hedden

 

After that, I was given the green light to re-install DSS. If you follow these steps, you should have DSS off your computer. Note: try this at your own risk. Should know the basic understandings of Terminal and CLI. Remember, when executing these commands, you need to be logged in as a super user or use the sudo command. Enjoy!

